HT logo

Qualifications & Experience

Hello! I am a graduate of Vassar College. I majored in environmental studies focussing in sociology, earth science, and biology. I am comfortable teaching any subject up through grade 8, and am comfortable teaching high school level biology, earth science, English, and other subjects upon request. I am currently a tutor with a small private agency, and I tutor math, English, biology and earth science for students ranging from 9-16 years old. I was also hired as a substitute teacher for middle school at Friends Seminary. I also have training in the visual arts, dance, and music so I can potentially tutor hobbies as well for younger students. Last summer I was a camp counselor at the Wellfleet Bay Audubon Society day camp. There I taught 7 and 8 year olds about ecology and natural history through fun lessons, outdoor hikes, games, and crafts. I love the opportunity to provide students with the one on one attention and academic help they need. I believe that all students have tremendous potential to succeed if they have the right teacher who is willing to put in the time.

I excelled in science both at a high school and college level. I am passionate about it and genuinely find it very interesting and fun. In college I took environmental science, earth science, biology, and ecology classes.

I understand that school may be difficult or boring for students, and that teachers are not always patient and understanding. However I had the privilege of loving my education and I will try my best to make lessons with my students an interesting learning experience. I will never judge a student who is having trouble or lose my patience, I am happy to work through subjects at whatever pace they find comfortable until they reach a point where they feel confident that they have grasped the material.

Education

2017

Vassar College

Environmental Studies

Degree

2017

Bachelors

Elise ’s Rating

0.0
0.0
Articulation
0.0
Proficiency
0.0
Punctuality

Reviews

No results found.