HT logo

Qualifications & Experience

I am an experienced, patient and caring tutor & public school science/math teacher. I hold an M.S. degree in molecular & cell biology from Cal State East Bay and a B.S. degree in environmental science from U.C. Berkeley. I offer over eight years of classroom teaching experience, primarily at public and charter schools in the east bay. I’ve also spent over three years working for several private tutoring agencies where I tutor students both in person and on-line to improve their scores on the CBEST/CSET, SAT and ACT exams and to improve their biology, math, chemistry and English grades. I’ve also taught at a private school for learning challenged students, where all instruction was done on a one-to-one basis. I will devise a well-organized program based on your goals and learning style that offers you or your child a clear path toward higher achievement on tests, quizzes and exams.

My students will see a real increase in their understanding of the subject material through careful analysis and discussion of the questions and answers to their homework/test problems. You will be given a step-by-step framework for solving a variety of similar problems. I strive to provide my clients with the real understanding required to solve more challenging exam questions which is the key to high performance. My students are also taught the best test taking strategies as well as ways to deal with test anxiety.

My English writing, grammar and reading comprehension skills are also very solid. I've spent many years in private industry in a sales & marketing role, where I had to write advertising and e-mail campaign pieces and company newsletters. I’ve tutored quite a few students on the English portion of the SAT, ACT and CBEST/CSET exams.

I believe that all students deserve a tutor who is kind, patient and knowledgeable; who can relate to each students individual needs and challenge and encourage them to achieve beyond their expectations of themselves. My goal is to help inspire my students to gain successful admission to quality universities and then move toward successful careers in industry or academia. I have worked successfully with students of all races and socio-economic backgrounds, including students with learning disabilities such as attention disorder, dyslexia, and mild autism, and have found ways to help them as well.

My standard rate is $50/hr. I am currently offering an introductory rate of $45/hr. for the first session to new clients only. I’m available to meet at your home, library, or any public place of your choosing, within reasonable driving distance. I also can offer online video tutoring via Skype or Google Hangout. Send me a note describing what sort of tutoring you’re looking for, which times work best, and any other relevant details. I promise you a rapid response. If you are the sort of student who appreciates a knowledgeable, organized and easy going instructor, you won't be disappointed.

Education

1988

University of California - Berkeley

Environmental Science

1992

California State University - East Bay

Molecular and Cell Biology

Degree

1988

Bachelors

1992

Masters

Barry ’s Rating

0.0
0.0
Articulation
0.0
Proficiency
0.0
Punctuality

Reviews

No results found.