HT logo

Qualifications & Experience

My name is Dorsa and I'm a graduate from Carnegie Mellon University, where I majored in statistics and economics, and am currently working towards my masters degree in data science.
I have experience working as a math and statistics tutor, and a section leader and teacher's assistant for statistics courses in my undergraduate college. In this position I was able to help students understand basic statistical and probability concepts, and use software to visualize and conduct statistical experiments. My other responsibilities included grading homework assignments and tests, and holding review sessions for students before exams.
Since January of this year, I started tutoring students in statistics for a few hours per week through Cardinal Education. During my time in undergrad and since starting my masters degree, I have worked in finance and as a research assistant doing statistical analysis.

I enjoy working with students and helping them build long-term skills and gain the knowledge they need to be successful, whatever their goal may be. As a college student, I often reached out to my course teaching assistants and professors, so I recognize the value of having a good teacher. This is why I like to work with students to figure out where exactly they are struggling and create an approach tailored to their specific needs. I like to guide students to solve problems by first figuring out what they do and don't understand, and building up to solving the problem by clarifying concepts. I believe it is more useful to students to help them reach the answer on their own rather than just telling them how to solve the problem.

Education

2017

Carnegie Mellon University

Statistics and Economics

Degree

2017

Bachelors

Awards & Honors

2016

Dean's List, High Honors

Dorsa ’s Rating

0.0
0.0
Articulation
0.0
Proficiency
0.0
Punctuality

Reviews

No results found.